Yesterday, I went out for my 7 mile long run at Tobico Marsh. I'm ashamed to say I've lived in Bay City for fourteen years, and I've never been out on the trails there, despite passing them about every weekend. The trails were very picturesque, despite having no foliage on the trees, and most of the animals still in hibernation. I was fortunate enough to see a mating pair of snowy white swans, and a small flock of geese. Also, I had the company of a beautiful, distinctive oriole with yellow markings, instead of orange. He would fly to a nearby tree, and as I passed, would fly off. A few minutes later, I'd see him again. This went on for about 5 miles!
The downside is that, despite several days of sunshine and warmish weather, there is enough shade to keep the trails pretty solidly iced over. Yesterday's 40+ degree weather allowed the top inch or so of snow to melt, leaving a layer of wet, slippery slush on top of several inches of ice. My feet were FREEZING by the time I was done, and my quads and glutes were killing me from all the effort of stabilizing myself. It was a lot of fun, despite the cold toes and cold fingers (left my gloves in the car at the trailhead... oops). Oddly, I was really warm otherwise, running in only shorts and a tank top.
Today, I woke up and drove to a neighboring community's high school, and proceeded to run around with a bunch of other guys playing with guns! Before anyone freaks out, I am a police officer, and I was conducting Active Shooter Response training, hosted by Texas State University and the FBI. It's a lot of fun, but my legs and feet were tired and achy all day. A lot of good information, and new ways to look at stuff. The best part, I get to go back tomorrow for more!
As for today's run, I did an easy 3.75 miler. That put me at 75 for the month. Looking forward to relaxing the legs a little tomorrow. I'll be working on core tomorrow. Taking a tip from Jimmy Dean Freeman: no "down" days. Do something every day to bring you closer to your goal. Even if it's reviewing maps or elevation charts, or cross training. And sometimes, that means taking a needed rest day.
Well, until next time, see you on the trail!
Monday, March 31, 2014
Product Review for ENERGYbits.... plus a surprise or two!!
In the spirit of full disclosure, I want to say that I was provided a sample pack of ENERGYbits by the company for the purposes of testing and reviewing them. This does not imply that I am being compensated in any way. My review will be my honest opinion, good or bad. However, if you continue to the end of my review, YOU can benefit from my review. Now, let's get to it.
Last Wednesday, about a week after corresponding with Jonathan, the Community Manager for ENERGYbits, I received an envelop in the mail, with a small metal tin, and a stack of literature. I initially forced myself to ignore the tin and look through the literature. They provide you with a LOT of information. I found some of the info pretty interesting. I'll get to that a little later.
According to the recommendations, you should swallow or chew between 30 and 40 bits about 10-15 minutes before a run or other workout. I opened the tin, and immediately noticed the smell. It's hard to describe, but the best I can do is say it smells very organic and earthy. Not bad, just not sure I would call it a good food smell. My 10 year old daughter offered to taste test one. She said, and I quote, "They don't taste like anything..." She did say when you chew them up, they get stuck in your teeth. Plus, her teeth were green. When she took a drink, it was gone. No harm, no foul, though I was hoping to be able to make fun of her.
I had a 5 mile run scheduled that I was really not looking forward to. I had a long day at work, was tired, and didn't really care to spend time running around a track 40 times. All I really wanted to do was take a nap. I figured this would be a great time to test them. So, off I went. When I got to the gym, before I started to change into my running clothes, I counted out 20 bits (I figured I would try a couple different amounts for different runs), swallowed them whole (they smell a little too off for me to chew up) and waited. I can't say I ever noticed a surge of energy, as I was expecting. So I started running.
The first thing I noticed was that I seemed to be moving at a pretty quick clip, considering this was supposed to be an easy run. I decided to see how I felt after a few laps. As I went, I didn't feel like I was losing steam. Don't get me wrong, I wasn't setting any PR's, but I felt good pushing at a pace closer to my 5k race pace. I was working hard, but I wasn't getting burned out. So, I kept the pace steady.
Also, I noticed I was more mentally alert. I was able to focus much better on the actual running. Usually I have to really pay attention, or I inadvertently slow down to a casual jog, or I lose count of my laps. That didn't happen this time. I was able to keep focused on my turnover and my lap count. I actually reveled in paying attention to the act of running. That's something I have been struggling with for a few months. My brain has been getting in the way a lot lately.
Probably the best thing I noticed was that I FELT LIKE RUNNING. Considering how I started the run (demotivated, tired, irritable), that was a pretty big deal to me! I ran the five miles, and continued for about another half mile or so, just because. When I was done, I didn't feel burned out. I felt like I could have run for a while longer.
I didn't notice any sort of stomach issues while running. The bits settled well, with no noticeable fullness or discomfort, and despite the "natural" odor and taste. I don't suspect I will ever have the courage to chew them up, and they are easy enough to swallow whole.
PEROFORMANCE:
I was able to run about 5.5 miles with what seemed like only slightly harder than comfortable effort. However, when I looked at my splits and pace, I was impressed. I maintained nearly identical mile splits (within a second or two) throughout my run. My overall pace was only 5 seconds slower than my previous day's hard 3.1 mile run. The effort of the 3.1 mile run was huge, and I felt beat afterwards. Also, my 5 mile pace was more than a minute faster per mile than my 7 mile run from Sunday. I had no pain or discomfort in my legs, and felt like I could have run much longer. I had no issues with stomach discomfort or gas like i typically have with different supplements and foods.
QUESTIONS: Really, the only question I have, that I'd like to test in the future, is the nutritional value on a really long run, into the 30+ mile range. Will one calorie per bit be enough to sustain your caloric balance when you are running for truly extended periods of time?
VERDICT:
In my first test, I'd have to say I am overall impressed with this product. It seemed to give me enough energy to push through a mid-length run, even when I start off demotivated and tired. If I had a criticism, it would be that I wish it didn't have to take so many bits at one time to be effective. Not sure how to fix this, as making the bits bigger would make them harder to swallow. The taste is obviously an issue, but that is a by-product of the fact that it is 100% spirulina algae, with no additives or flavorings.
BONUS:
Now for the good stuff (part 1): Are you interested in trying out ENERGYbits? If you go to their website and place an order, enter the promo code "BLOG" to receive a 10% discount.
Good stuff (part 2): One lucky reader will receive a sample of ENERGYbits of your own. Simply leave a question about either ENERGYbits or about my training, and I will pick a winner at random from the eligible posts. If you don't leave a question, you won't be considered (yes, this is, in part, a ploy to generate some interaction on my blog, which is still in it's infancy). Unfortunately, this giveaway is only available to US residents (ENERGYbits rules, not mine). The contest will end on Tax Day, April 15th, 2014.
Check back in the future for more product reviews. Also, let me know if you have any questions. See you on the trails!
Last Wednesday, about a week after corresponding with Jonathan, the Community Manager for ENERGYbits, I received an envelop in the mail, with a small metal tin, and a stack of literature. I initially forced myself to ignore the tin and look through the literature. They provide you with a LOT of information. I found some of the info pretty interesting. I'll get to that a little later.
According to the recommendations, you should swallow or chew between 30 and 40 bits about 10-15 minutes before a run or other workout. I opened the tin, and immediately noticed the smell. It's hard to describe, but the best I can do is say it smells very organic and earthy. Not bad, just not sure I would call it a good food smell. My 10 year old daughter offered to taste test one. She said, and I quote, "They don't taste like anything..." She did say when you chew them up, they get stuck in your teeth. Plus, her teeth were green. When she took a drink, it was gone. No harm, no foul, though I was hoping to be able to make fun of her.
I had a 5 mile run scheduled that I was really not looking forward to. I had a long day at work, was tired, and didn't really care to spend time running around a track 40 times. All I really wanted to do was take a nap. I figured this would be a great time to test them. So, off I went. When I got to the gym, before I started to change into my running clothes, I counted out 20 bits (I figured I would try a couple different amounts for different runs), swallowed them whole (they smell a little too off for me to chew up) and waited. I can't say I ever noticed a surge of energy, as I was expecting. So I started running.
The first thing I noticed was that I seemed to be moving at a pretty quick clip, considering this was supposed to be an easy run. I decided to see how I felt after a few laps. As I went, I didn't feel like I was losing steam. Don't get me wrong, I wasn't setting any PR's, but I felt good pushing at a pace closer to my 5k race pace. I was working hard, but I wasn't getting burned out. So, I kept the pace steady.
Also, I noticed I was more mentally alert. I was able to focus much better on the actual running. Usually I have to really pay attention, or I inadvertently slow down to a casual jog, or I lose count of my laps. That didn't happen this time. I was able to keep focused on my turnover and my lap count. I actually reveled in paying attention to the act of running. That's something I have been struggling with for a few months. My brain has been getting in the way a lot lately.
Probably the best thing I noticed was that I FELT LIKE RUNNING. Considering how I started the run (demotivated, tired, irritable), that was a pretty big deal to me! I ran the five miles, and continued for about another half mile or so, just because. When I was done, I didn't feel burned out. I felt like I could have run for a while longer.
I didn't notice any sort of stomach issues while running. The bits settled well, with no noticeable fullness or discomfort, and despite the "natural" odor and taste. I don't suspect I will ever have the courage to chew them up, and they are easy enough to swallow whole.
PEROFORMANCE:
I was able to run about 5.5 miles with what seemed like only slightly harder than comfortable effort. However, when I looked at my splits and pace, I was impressed. I maintained nearly identical mile splits (within a second or two) throughout my run. My overall pace was only 5 seconds slower than my previous day's hard 3.1 mile run. The effort of the 3.1 mile run was huge, and I felt beat afterwards. Also, my 5 mile pace was more than a minute faster per mile than my 7 mile run from Sunday. I had no pain or discomfort in my legs, and felt like I could have run much longer. I had no issues with stomach discomfort or gas like i typically have with different supplements and foods.
QUESTIONS: Really, the only question I have, that I'd like to test in the future, is the nutritional value on a really long run, into the 30+ mile range. Will one calorie per bit be enough to sustain your caloric balance when you are running for truly extended periods of time?
VERDICT:
In my first test, I'd have to say I am overall impressed with this product. It seemed to give me enough energy to push through a mid-length run, even when I start off demotivated and tired. If I had a criticism, it would be that I wish it didn't have to take so many bits at one time to be effective. Not sure how to fix this, as making the bits bigger would make them harder to swallow. The taste is obviously an issue, but that is a by-product of the fact that it is 100% spirulina algae, with no additives or flavorings.
BONUS:
Now for the good stuff (part 1): Are you interested in trying out ENERGYbits? If you go to their website and place an order, enter the promo code "BLOG" to receive a 10% discount.
Good stuff (part 2): One lucky reader will receive a sample of ENERGYbits of your own. Simply leave a question about either ENERGYbits or about my training, and I will pick a winner at random from the eligible posts. If you don't leave a question, you won't be considered (yes, this is, in part, a ploy to generate some interaction on my blog, which is still in it's infancy). Unfortunately, this giveaway is only available to US residents (ENERGYbits rules, not mine). The contest will end on Tax Day, April 15th, 2014.
Check back in the future for more product reviews. Also, let me know if you have any questions. See you on the trails!
Saturday, March 29, 2014
Footprints for the week: 3/23-3/29
This week was a good week for my training runs. Nothing too exciting, but I hit all my mileage, plus a little. It was all on an indoor track, as it's still a little cool out for my tastes. Next week is looking much better, though. Every day (after Sunday) will be above 40 degrees F, with Monday being over 60! I may head out to City Forest after work to see if the trails are clear for an hour-long run!
I'm feeling a lot better than last week, though still having some significant allergy issues, with the snow finally melting off, and exposing the dead grass. Mostly just congestion and a cough. I'll take the spring allergies any day, over snow and cold. Legs are feeling okay, no real aches or pains, just some stiffness in the mornings, and one day of just plain exhaustion that a rest day fixed.
Here's the breakdown of miles:
Sunday, 3/23: 7.5 mile long run. Felt really good, though that amount of time on an 1/8 mile track is mind-numbing.
Monday, 3/24: rest day/ core and shoulder work. Looked over the map for Marquette a little, to familiarize myself with it.
Tuesday, 3/25: 3.11 miles, at a fast pace (ok, fast for me...). Was completely gassed afterwards, but it felt really good to push hard.
Wednesday, 3/26: 5.44 miles. This was the first evaluation run using ENERGYbits (I'll write up a review in a separate post later today). Felt great.
Thursday, 3/27: .25 miles. Yeah, that says a quarter mile. I had a rough night, didn't sleep well, and just couldn't get my legs to cooperate. Achilles was tender, shins were stiff, head wasn't in it. After struggling for a while, I called it a run. Not my best moment. I spent the rest of my morning working my core. In hindsight, I talked it over with my wife (who is great at putting things in their proper perspective). After discussing it, she stopped me and said, "Sounds like your head beat your body this time." Yup. That about sums it up.... Lesson learned. Gotta get my head on straight before I start my run.
Friday, 3/28: 3.11. Today was supposed to be a rest day, but I had to make up for yesterday's debacle. Pushed pretty decently, not like Tuesday, but probably 85% effort. Definitely winded afterwards, but felt good.
Saturday, 3/29: That's today. I'll be doing a 3 miler a little later in the evening. Looking forward to it.
Total miles for the week should be right about 22.5 miles. When I put it that way, it doesn't seem very impressive, but I'm happy with my work, and my #1 goal is not to get injured.
That said, I'm looking forward to watching my miles continue on the upward arc. See you on the trails!
Tuesday, March 18, 2014
The Winter of Discontent
Seriously?! Sick again?! I've been sick more this winter than I have been in the last ten years, combined! First, January had the whole family sick with influenza. I'm talking the same thing that knocked out entire Spanish colonies, the same thing responsible for the death of millions of Native Americans, the respiratory disease from hell! two weeks of high fevers, no energy, about a month and a half of coughing, absolutely awful. Obviously, I had no extra energy for running. Then, mid February, I started feeling much better. I ran exactly three times, then *BAM* hit with Norovirus, an equally horrible stomach bug. Two days of constant vomiting, and about four days till I felt like I could run again.
It's been smooth sailing since then. The days are getting longer, the snow piles are shrinking, and I've been able to start spending more time outside. All good, right?
Nope. A couple days ago, I started getting a little sniffly, and thought it was the changing weather causing my allergies to go a little goofy. Today, I started getting a little bit of a headache. Now, chills, ear aches, sore throat, etc. Luckily, I've got a rest day today, so I can wallow in misery, and hopefully be better tomorrow.
OK, enough bitching. I got a few really great-feeling runs in this week, and I'm looking forward to a little longer run this weekend. I have a 7 miler planned. I'm really enjoying my training, even though I'm still struggling with both endurance and speed. Luckily, I have a while till my big race, and I'm not too concerned with my placement, so long as I finish.
Well, the kids and dinner are calling. Till next time, I'll see you on the trails!
Thursday, March 13, 2014
In the beginning, there was nothing.... (cue bagpipe music)
Running and bagpipes. two hobbies consuming more and more of my life. I'm not GOOD at either one, but I'm getting there, one step at a time (pun intended). This blog is going to be my running log, race/ run review, progress report, and journal, all rolled into one. It's not going to just be about running, and it's not going to just be about bagpipes, and it's not going to be a place that i just log miles. I'm hoping to give an insight into my life as a whole.
On that note, lets talk about my running plans. In short, I'm registered for my first ultra marathon: the Marquette Trail 50 in August (www.marquettetrail50.com). I have run exactly one marathon (Chicago Marathon in 2008), and, before last year, haven't really been running since. I'm the type of person who needs a BIG goal to work for, or I have a hard time sticking with a training program. Hence, the 50 MILE RACE.....
Other than that, My summer is just going to be training runs. I don't have any other races scheduled, though I may jump in on a trail half or full marathon. I've heard some good things about the Running Fit races here in Michigan. I'm trying to avoid road races, as they are not very comfortable on the body, plus, train like you fight.
Training thus far: It's been a brutal winter here in Mid-Michigan, and the trails are, for the most part, not passable. So I've been spending a lot of time running on treadmills and on indoor tracks. I'm eagerly anticipating the spring thaw, so I can start hitting dirt again! I haven't run into any real issues yet, structurally. Though, mentally, it's been tough getting up for my morning runs. On top of that, I came down with influenza in January, and was out of commission for almost the entire month. That set me back a little in my training. More importantly, it got me worrying a lot about staying on my training schedule. So far, I haven't had much issue with staying on target since then. The miles were a little painful the first few weeks, but I'm feeling good now.
Once I start running outside, I'll be posting some pics of the trails, interesting sights I come across, etc. I'd start now, but the inside of the YMCA isn't all that exciting for anyone. Until then, keep running!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)